Social Emotional Learning

What is Social Emotional Learning?
Social and emotional learning (SEL) is the process through which all young people and adults acquire and apply knowledge, skills, and attitudes to develop healthy identities, manage emotions, and achieve personal and collective goals, feel and show empathy for others, establish and maintain supportive relationships, and make responsible and caring decisions. 

What are the Ohio Department of Education's (ODE) SEL Standards?
ODE adopted Ohio's K-12 Social Emotional Learning Standards in June of 2019. Ohio's K-12 SEL Standards are provided by grade bands (KG-3; 3-5; 6-8; 9-12) and provide a continuum of development across five competencies: Self-Awareness, Self Management, Social Awareness, Relationship Skills, and Responsible Decision-Making. Here is the link to the specific standards: ODE's SEL Standards.

How does Beavercreek City Schools Address the SEL Standards? 
Beavercreek City Schools created a curriculum map to ensure all SEL standards were being met. The Second Step SEL Curriculum is used in addition to PAX Good Behavior Game, Character Education, Josten's Renaissance, and Social Communications Books. 

Social Emotional Learning Supplemental Book Lists:

Social Emotional Learning Activities:

Helpful Links to learn more about Social Emotional Learning: